i wanted to give it a chance, and i had to, but failed so many times..

 

 

Robert F. Kennedy once said “Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

In the past, I have often found myself thinking and having to deal with these very same feelings myself. In most cases, I was left kicking myself for not acting on what I really wanted to act upon.

 

The excuses I would come up with were extensive and left me feeling better in a sense about myself, but this often only lasted for a short period of time. After that feeling of self-contentment of having an excuse would past, I was left to face the consequences of my actions and regrettably wishing I had followed through with it.

 

A lot of us were taught to avoid taking chances. “Color within the lines“, we were told. “Stay inside of the box“, “The comfort zone is a safe haven“. These and more were all things that we were consciously and unconsciously taught to follow..


Following those instructions did absolutely what they were meant to do. They kept me and my ideas in our place; which happened not to be where I wanted to be. I was afraid to step out and try anything different; especially if it didn’t match up with those things I was taught to believe.

 

Here’s the thing that wasn’t included in those life lessons.

 

If we stay within the lines, in the box, and/or in our comfort zones, we will always get the same exact outcome; without fail. That’s what happens when we follow the path of others without taking the opportunity to form our own opinions and views.

 

We often think that if we "follow the leader" or do as we’re told to do there will be some type of reward for our obedience. No one ever tells us that if we don’t question somethings that we’re taught, the result will be the same results gathered by the teacher of the lessons.

I dread failure! So much so, that I will eliminate my only chance of success sometimes beacause of what i believe (or were taught) to be the case.


It’s all about believing in yourself enough to at least give it a try. You never know what you’re capable of until you take a chance and try doing it.


So today, 3 days into april 2013, I want to challenge each of you to take a chance this year and do something that you’ve been convincing yourself you could not do.

and i will do the same, challenge myself to take that leap of fate once again, and i am afraid.

Kommentera här: